The Sextortion of Amanda Todd

Watching the horrific Fifth Estate episode on Amanda Todd made me feel sick. Coming from a Father of a five year old girl, I cannot imagine the struggles that the family and Amanda dealt with everyday. Knowing there are men online blackmailing MY DAUGHTER with naked pictures would drive me absolutely crazy. I cannot help but feel complete anger towards this matter because these men (and maybe women to) that blackmail young girls with naked pictures have no place in this world. It is disgusting. These types of videos should be shared with kids all over. Surely it would help young people make better decisions when it comes to going online.

As  teacher, I hope to address these issues in a strict matter. I do not yet know where the ‘line’ is so that I do not cross it in regards to talking about the issue of online profiling and consequences, but I will be sure to find out because this is an issue that needs to be prevented from happening.

As the fifth estate video mentioned, these predators online often seek power because they lack it outside of the internet world. DO NOT give them that power. They should be addressing these social issues in different ways. Obviously, they need help.

I can’t begin to understand how my family and I would react or handle the situation that the Todd family was faced with. It must have been, and still is so difficult. Kids are so vulnerable and Amanda’s death could have been prevented. I hope people take this video as seriously as I did (maybe taking away less anger though, I am overwhelmed by how upset this video made me) so that we can work towards making sure we do not experience this sort of tragedy.

2 thoughts on “The Sextortion of Amanda Todd

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this story, I know sometimes it is not easy to discuss. I appreciate that you talk about this story in relevance to your future teaching practices. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about such a heart breaking story.

Leave a comment